it’s baking season!

With Thanksgiving so near and Christmas around the corner, I’m getting excited to spend more time baking! Yesterday my cousins and I had a “practice Thanksgiving” – basically just a reason to get together and eat delicious food. Overall, we did very good for not having any of the aunts and uncles involved. We had enough food and then some to have for dinner later on. What we had tons of was desserts.

Not too long ago, I found a recipe for a peanut butter fudge brownie trifle on Pintrest. I knew I wanted to make it. Here’s how I did it:

Layer 1: A box of chocolate brownies (any brand – I used Ghirardelli) baked following directions, cooled, and cut into chunks.

Layer 2: Peanut butter-cream cheese layer (see recipe below). 

Layer 3: A 5 oz. box of chocolate pudding – made following the directions on the box. 

Layer 4: 2 cups whipped cream (following instructions below). Note: You will need a total of 3 cups whipping cream for the whole recipe, so I whipped all of it at once and then used 1/3 of it on Layer 2. 

Topping: 1 bag chopped up peanut butter cups.

To make layer 2 (ingredient amounts and directions quoted directly from In Jennie\’s Kitchen)

1 cup heavy cream

8 ounces cream cheese

1 cup creamy-style peanut butter

1 cup powdered sugar

1 – 14 ounce can sweetened condensed milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon freshly squeezed lemon juice

Pour the heavy cream into a bowl and beat using a stand mixer or hand mixer until stiff peaks form.  Transfer to a small bowl and store in refrigerator until ready to use. Place the cream cheese and peanut butter in a mixing bowl.  Beat on medium speed until light and fluffy.  Reduce speed to low and gradually beat in the powdered sugar.  Add the sweetened condensed milk, vanilla extract and lemon juice. Increase speed to medium and beat until all the ingredients are combined and filling is smooth.

Stir in 1/3 of the whipped cream into the filling mixture (helps lighten the batter, making it easier to fold in the remaining whipped cream).  Fold in the remaining whipped cream.  

For Layer 4: 

Pour the 3 cups heavy cream or whipping cream (1 cup for use in Layer 2, the other 2 cups for layer 4) into the mixing bowl. Turn the mixer on high for a few minutes, until stiff peaks form. Store it in the refrigerator until ready to use. 

To assemble the trifle: I put the brownies on bottom, then added half of the peanut butter mixture, put half of the pudding for the next layer, chopped up some peanut butter cups, and continued layering like this until I used up all the ingredients. I put the whipped cream as the top layer.

 

 

 

I also attempted to make homemade dinner rolls. It took FOREVER – I think I need to develop patience to bake bread. Waiting for it to rise takes waaaay too long. I followed a bread machine recipe for the dough. Then I balled up small balls of dough and put 3 each in a muffin pan. I let them rise until they doubled in size (I actually turned the oven on to about 250 and put the pan in front of the oven vent to speed up the process) and then baked them for about 15 minutes at 350 degrees. They turned out way better than I expected!

allie

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

what choo got to say?

