“attachments” by rainbow rowell

I finished reading a book written for adults! That is truly an accomplishment for me. I’m not sure I’ve ever read a book intended for adults, save the classics (Sense and Sensibility, any of the Sherlock Holmes stories, for example). Young adult fiction is usually my favorite – if it’s fantasy or sci fi, then it’s gotta be up my alley (allie?).

Here are my thoughts on Attachments by Rainbow Rowell. With realistic fiction, I always get nervous about content/language making me uncomfortable. You don’t have to worry about that as much when the targeted audience is eleven-year-olds. After a few nights of forcing myself to stick with it, I came to truly enjoy this story.

Summary (quoted from the front flap of the book): Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder, coworkers at The Courier, know the newspaper monitors their office e-mail. But they still spend all day sending each other messages, gossiping about their coworkers, and baring their personal lives like an open book. Jennifer tells Beth everything she can’t seem to tell her husband about her anxieties over starting a family. And Beth tells Jennifer everything, period.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill still can’t believe that it’s his job to monitor other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be an Internet security officer, he pictured himself protecting the newspaper from dangerous hackers – not sending out memos every time somebody in Accounting forwarded an off-color joke to the person in the next cubicle.

Lincoln is supposed to turn people in for misusing company e-mail, but he can’t quite bring himself to crack down on Beth and Jennifer. He can’t help being entertained – and captivated – by their stories. But by the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late for him to ever introduce himself. What would he say to her? “Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you”?

Review: Not sure at first, I ended up truly enjoying this story. The first third of the book was slow and a little bit depressing to me (who is used to stories set in other, more exciting worlds). It was hard for me to get used to the realistic fiction aspect to this story, considering it all takes place at work or at Lincoln’s mother’s house (he’s 29 and living with mom again). However, I was pleased with the way Rowell developed all three main characters. I felt that they all grew in many ways by the end of the story. Lincoln I liked the least in the beginning, but his character evolved into someone I wish I could be friends with. I suppose that’s the beauty of realistic fiction – character growth.  Plus, it had an ending that I felt was fitting for the story. Not only was it fitting, it was happy. (Those of you that know me, a book has to have hope at the end to be worth my time.)

Bottom Line: It’s a romantic story. It takes place in 1999. The characters’ wit and charm will draw you in. Check it out from the library!

allie

Leave a comment

Filed under books and movies

what choo got to say?

