Conclusions about Sherlock

Sherlock Holmes. Brilliant mind, well-versed in the powers of deduction. Honestly, my hero. Too bad he’s fictional and lived over 100 years ago. I LOVE Sherlock Holmes (I am one story short of reading the entirety of Arthur Conan Doyle’s stories about Sherlock), so naturally I am curious about any movie, TV show, or film that features Sherlock. This blog is about my conclusions regarding the many forms of Sherlock I have encountered over the past year.

Many of you have probably seen the recent Sherlock Holmes movies, with Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law (IMDB summary here). I was skeptical at first, but I did enjoy the movie. I mean, Robert Downey Jr., Jude Law, Rachel McAdams? Great chemistry as actors. True to Holmes’ wit. Conclusion: Totally worth it. Go see the 2nd one when it comes out in theaters December 16th.

source

The first films about Holmes and Watson that I ever watched featured Basil Rathbone as Holmes. Entertaining, sure. But overall those films are hard to follow, hard to understand the speech (they all talk quite fast, with British accents), and they’re black and white so at times it’s harder to figure out what’s going on. Not to mention that Watson is portrayed as a bumbling idiot, which he’s not. Surely Holmes would not choose a bumbling idiot as his only partner in solving complex mysteries. Conclusion: not worth it.

source

Next, I discovered Jeremy Brett’s Sherlock Holmes. Released in the 1980s, these films are true to the original tales and each about an hour long (maybe about an hour and 15 minutes each). These films are great, especially if you are a true Sherlock fan. I’ve been checking them out from the local library, which rents them for free for 7 days. Conclusion: Do like I did and find these at the library! Great if you are familiar with Doyle’s stories.

source

Last, but absolutely not least, is the “Sherlock” series by BBC. There are only three episodes currently, each 1 1/2 hours long. I find these on Netflix. They depict a modern day Holmes, and the stories relate to Doyle’s stories (for example, episode one is titled, “A Study in Pink,” mimicking “A Study in Scarlet”) but they have a fabulous modern twist. Holmes uses modern technology such as email and texting to solve mysteries. The filming is exceptional. The characters are true to who they should be. I will admit, I was thrown off by Holmes’ appearance – I think it’s Benedict Cumberbatch’s dark hair and light eyes. Conclusion: My favorite film version of Holmes. Cannot wait for season 2 to come out! Find out more about this TV series here.

allie

Leave a comment

Filed under books and movies

what choo got to say?

